Slavery Is Not Dead in America!!!

Thank You Harold Smith
Kristeen Hernandez aka Lady2Soothe

Jail

Slavery is alive and well, and absolutely thriving in the American prison industrial complexes. The 13th Amendment of the US Constitution reads: “Neither slavery nor involuntary servitude, except as a punishment for crime whereof the party shall have been duly convicted, shall exist within the United States, or any place subject to their jurisdiction”. Section 26 of the Colorado State Constitution reflects this as well. The language in either document has not been amended, repealed, or deleted to date. Many people reading these words do not believe this to be fact. It is I promise. The big difference between today’s slavery and the slavery of old, is that in 2016 it is not racially discriminatory; if you break the law, no matter your race, creed or color, and are convicted-you ARE and WILL BE until your release a Slave of the State, and you will be treated as such. I broke the Law in Colorado, and according to the constitution, I am a slave to Colorado. It is the LAW!

That said, the simple fact is that I have done ALL of my TIME for the offense I was convicted of, so, how is it possible I’m still on this plantation? I am still in prison because an old law gave my physical custody and control to the State of Colorado for a sum of 48 years. My human rights are secondary to the State’s claims on my body. They own me, pure and simple.

Right is right, and wrong is wrong. No matter whom it is. Whether it is me, or the State of Colorado, the fact remains the same: I did wrong when I broke the Law, I fully admit and regret that fact. However, under current Colorado Law, it clearly spells out that I have already PAID IN FULL, for my actions. And deservedly so. That is JUST, and RIGHT. But what is so WRONG is that after nearly 19 years (3 years OVER the maximum penalty for the crime, and nearly 4 years since the Law was revised) the executive and legislative representatives for the people of the State of Colorado callously see fit to still hold me prisoner. This is Wrong and Unjust! This is tragic! This is Slavery in all its glory. This is allowed to stand, I believe in my heart, because the public does not know about it.

I’ve learned over the years most Americans are fair and just, and when they recognize Injustice they fight to get justice. Which is why, with my extremely limited resources, I am utilizing social media as best I can, from prison. I NEED YOUR HELP!! I think if you, the public knew my story you would be appalled. My family and I are. We are just so small and insignificant in this battle for my freedom against the State of Colorado. Will you help us please?

Some people who read this may be offended by my use of the term “slavery” to describe my situation, to them I would humbly say “No offense intended”, yet what other institution in our nation’s history do you know of, besides slavery which permits the State sanctioned bondage of human beings against their will? The current criminal justice system not only permits this, but in my case, -even after I have served ALL of my time-lets me sit in prison, and does nothing about it, actively ignoring this Injustice.

Our nation is one of laws, the foundation of a democratic society. Our people and our laws make this a great nation I love dearly, the greatest nation on God’s green earth. I am proud to be an American, but I need to be a FREE proud American. When I am released, I want to earn back all of my rights as an American citizen, and all that it entails, including, and especially, my right to vote. I need to have a voice in the Laws which affect me and my loved ones. When the laws of the land are no longer relevant, or applicable, the State Legislature changes the law in the interest of justice. This has already happened in my case. But they did not make it retroactive, which is why I am still in prison.

I am asking the Colorado State Legislature to pass legislation for RETROACTIVE APPLICATION OF House Bill 12-1213, and C.R.S. 18-1.3-801 (5) to my convictions. This action would release me from prison forthwith. I am also petitioning Colorado State Governor John Hickenlooper (he signed HB 12-1213 into law) to commute my prison sentence to 16 years’ time served. Which would also release me from prison forthwith. If you have not already done so, please visit my Facebook @JFHIC.

If you are a believer in “Justice for All”, PLEASE SIGN the COLORADO AMENDED HB 12-1213 RETROACTIVE APPLICATION: IMMEDIATE RELEASE FOR HAROLD SMITH PETITION.

Change

CLICK HERE TO SIGN

If you or anyone you know can help I would truly appreciate any and all input or even a friendly letter of support. And please re-post this to your social media pages asking your friends to sign and re-post.

Many thanks from the bottom of my heart, and blessings for taking the time to read my message.

Respectively, Harold Harold L Smith-Headshot

Harold L. Smith
DOC # 81050 Unit A4-4
Buena Vista Minimum Correctional
PO Box 2005
Buena Vista Colorado 81211

Leave a Reply

